‘Nailed On’ – Ex-FIFA official baffled by controversial incident in West Ham loss v Forest
In Saturday’s game against West Ham, Keith Hackett criticised the decision not to give Nottingham Forest a penalty (17 February).
After Maxwel Cornet caught Neco Williams, the former FIFA official tweeted on Monday, February 19, that it was a “nailed on” penalty. However, the referees ruled that Williams was not fouled.
As Forest secured a 2-0 victory at the City Ground, he added in a follow-up tweet to Mark Clattenburg’s explanation for why it should have been a spot-kick that these are “big decisions” that you would expect “elite officials” to get right.
West Ham know how poor Premier League officiating is
West Ham is one of the clubs that is most aware of how bad the officiating is in the Premier League right now.
They were completely taken advantage of in the 2-2 draw with Sheffield United, as Jarrod Bowen’s stonewall penalty was denied and Alphonse Areola gave up a late penalty for an alleged foul on Oli McBurnie.
However, the call did go their way against Forest because Cornet most likely fouled Williams after making contact with his foot.
Ultimately, though, it had no effect on the outcome since the Hammers put on another subpar effort, and we lost again.
